Monthly Recaps Reviews

July in Review

February 24, 2021

July in Review

Spinning by Tillie Walden — 3.5 stars
Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel by Mariah Marsden and Brenna Thummler — 4 stars
Fence, Volume One by C.S. Pacat and Johanna the Mad — 4 stars
Fence, Volume Two by C.S. Pacat and Johanna the Mad — 4 stars
Fence, Volume Three by C.S. Pacat and Johanna the Mad — 4 stars
What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter — 4 stars
Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson — 5 stars
Four Days of You and Me by Miranda Kenneally — 4 stars
Today Tonight Tomorrow by Rachel Lynn Solomon — 5 stars
Sadie by Courtney Summers — 5 stars

I didn’t realize Spinning was a graphic memoir until I picked it up. It depicts the moments that shaped Tillie Walden’s life as she grew up in the competitive ice skating world and at school. It’s an open and honest look at her memories related to figuring out her identity, coming out, and the loneliness she felt growing up.

One of the things I love about Anne of Green Gables is how the story transitions throughout all four seasons. This can be really seen in the graphic novel. Overall, it was a cute adaptation with colorful art that hit all of the key scenes of the story. This would be a great introduction to Anne for younger readers, and a must-read for any older fans!

I love a good sports romance, so I was excited to pick up the Fence comics. But oh boy, is this a slowburn romance! I’ll definitely be keeping up with this series as I’m looking forward to seeing how the characters continue to develop. And as someone who knows nothing about fencing, it was fun learning a bit about the sport through this comic. Fans of Check, Please! will love this series!

What I Like About You is as sweet as a cupcake! It’s a fun romcom featuring the book community, online friends, baking, and Jewish representation. As someone who started blogging in high school and is working towards a career in publishing, I related to the main character Halle in so many ways—I would have really appreciated this book as a teen. Check out this interview with author Marisa Kanter!

Monday’s Not Coming is a stunning, absolute must-read! Claudia’s best friend Monday is missing, but no one else seems to care. The story unfolds through mixed timelines, creating a twisty journey and adding a feeling of dread as you draw closer to finding out what happened to Monday. You will not be able to put this one down and will be thinking about it days after you finish—it’s just that dang good.

I’ve been a fan of Miranda Kenneally since I was in high school, so I was very excited to read her first book away from the Hundred Oaks series. Four Days of You and Me follows a couple through their four years of high school and all of the ups and downs that seem to culminate during the annual class trip. The multiple timelines were fun and I enjoyed seeing the characters grow up a little more each year. It’s not my favorite of the author’s books as I did feel a little disconnected from the couple due to the constantly changing timelines.

If you love rivals-to-lovers romcoms, Today Tonight Tomorrow is a must-add to your TBRs! This 24 hours, rivals-to-lovers romcom is SO FUN, and I loved every second of it! Even though this takes place on the last day of school, Rachel Lynn Solomon captures Rowan and Neil’s four-year rivalry so clearly. Their banter is A+ and I was eagerly waiting for them to finally figure out their feelings and relationship. Today Tonight Tomorrow is also very much a love letter to Seattle, and I loved exploring the city through Rowan and Neil’s eyes as they completed the class scavenger hunt. Be sure to check out my aesthetic for the book!

I listened to the audiobook for Sadie, and loved it so much. The full cast narration is amazing, especially for the podcast episodes. It’s a neat layer to the story and really adds to it. This is an addicting, heartbreaking story that will leave you wrecked at the end.

Have you read any of these books yet? What books did you read in July?

No Comments

Leave a Reply