Monthly Recaps Reviews

November in Review

February 14, 2022

November in Review

Capturing the Devil by Kerri Maniscalco —  4.5 stars
One of the series I wanted to finish in 2021 was Stalking Jack the Ripper, and so I finally read Capturing the Devil! I love this series so much—Audrey Rose and Thomas have been a longtime favorite ship of mine and I enjoyed seeing their journey come to a conclusion. The first half of the book mostly focuses on their romance, but the mystery takes center stage in the second half, bringing pieces from the previous novels together for the grand finale.

The Library of Lost Things by Laura Taylor Namey — 5 stars
Darcy has a big secret—her mom is a compulsive shopper and hoarder. As a way to cope, Darcy has spent most of her life hiding herself within the pages of books. When she meets Asher, a boy with shattered dreams, she finally starts opening up—and learning that her mother may not be the only hoarder in their home.

The Library of Lost Things is a beautiful story filled with complex relationships. It’s an emotional and heart-warming read, and I especially loved Asher, who’s healing from a terrible accident (the migraine rep was a nice surprise). YA contemporary fans will love this book!

Hot British Boyfriend by Kristy Boyce — 4 stars
Hot British Boyfriend was a super cute read! It was fun exploring England with Ellie as she studies abroad there, and I loved how she finds her friend group and grows closer to them throughout the semester. There’s also a sweet friends-to-lovers romance! This book is perfect for fans of Anna and the French Kiss and Lauren Morrill’s Meant to Be.

Becoming the Dark Prince by Kerri Maniscalco — 4 stars
I love reading novellas that go along with my favorite series, especially when they focus on a different POV! Becoming the Dark Prince takes place in-between the third and fourth books in the Stalking Jack the Ripper series. I loved seeing Thomas’ perspective for some of the major events in Escaping From Houdini as well as some new stories that filled in a little bit of what him and Audrey Rose were up to before Capturing the Devil begins (which is a few weeks after the end of the third book).

Love & Other Natural Disasters by Misa Sugiura — 4 stars
Fake dating is my fave trope and so I was very excited for Love & Other Natural Disasters! This queer romcom is super cute and I loved its take on fake dating—there’s some messy drama so that’s fun. I also loved the complex family dynamics in the story. Perfect if you’re looking for a fun summer romcom!

The Upside of Falling by Alex Light — 3 stars
I’m a sucker for fake dating and cute illustrated covers, so The Upside of Falling has been in my TBR since it released. I’m glad to be able to check this one off my TBR list—it was a cute and quick read! I listened to the audiobook and loved that there were two narrators for the dual POV.

XOXO by Axie Oh — 4 stars
XOXO is a fun romance! After spending whirlwind evening with a mysterious boy she just met, Jenny doesn’t hear from Jaewoo again . . . until she shows up at her new arts academy in South Korea and finds out that not only does he attend, he’s a member of one of the biggest upcoming k-pop groups. I loved being thrust into Jenny’s new life in South Korea and seeing her make new friends, grow closer with her grandmother, and secretly begin a relationship with Jaewoo. Perfect for fans of Somewhere Only We Know and I’ll Be the One!

You’ll want to read this book if you love:
☑️ Boarding schools
☑️ Forbidden romances
☑️ K-pop

Tiny Dancer by Siena Cherson Siegel and Mark Siegel — 4 stars
Tiny Dancer is a beautiful graphic memoir about a ballet dancer figuring out what comes next after an injury. Full of complex feelings, this memoir explores what happens when the dreams and plans you have for life don’t work out and the adrift feelings that comes with it. Perfect for fans of Spinning by Tillie Walden!

The Holiday Switch by Tif Marcelo — 4 stars
The Holiday Switch is a cute Christmas romance perfect for fans of Hallmark movies and Laura Silverman’s Recommended for You! It’s fun and full of family and holiday festivities. The main character, Lila, is a book blogger and I loved how her book reviews were featured throughout the story!

So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen — 5 stars
So, This Is Christmas is the perfect novel to add to your holiday TBRs! I loved reading this book so much and didn’t want to put it down. Finley’s voice is so strong and snarky—it kept me fully engaged and even laughing out loud at parts. I loved her dynamic with Arthur as they worked together to pull off the perfect Christmas for his aunt (and how they grow closer to each other throughout it all). It’s a fun read full of Christmas hijinks (burnt cookies, reindeer sleigh rides gone wrong, being caught in a blizzard) that are sure to put you into the holiday spirit! Check out my aesthetic and full review here.

Are any of these books in your tbr? What was your favorite read in November?

4 Comments

  • Reply Kristina February 16, 2022 at 8:51 AM

    Ahh so happy you enjoyed the upside of falling too!! Definately one of my fave 2021 reads!

    I’ve got xoxo, the holiday switch & hot british boyfriend on my tbr ☺️ Happy you’ve enjoyed them too!

    • Reply Jordan February 16, 2022 at 8:31 PM

      Yes, all of these books were super cute!

  • Reply chelsea @ your bookish friend February 18, 2022 at 7:24 PM

    it looks like november was a great month for you! i wish i could remember that far back – lol.

    • Reply Jordan February 19, 2022 at 9:40 AM

      I fell a bit behind on my monthly recaps, but I’m almost caught up now!

    Leave a Reply