Monthly Recaps Reviews

January in Review

September 11, 2021

January in Review

The Deceivers by Kristen Simmons – 5 stars
The Deceivers was my first read of the year, thanks to @diamondxgirl! I’ve owned this book since it released but hadn’t read it yet. So when Christy said, “JORDAN THIS BOOK WAS WRITTEN FOR YOU,” I knew I needed to pick it up right away, and I’m so glad I did! This was the perfect book to start the year out with as I couldn’t put it down. It has con artists, a boarding school, romance, mystery, and high stakes—so yeah, Christy was right about how much I would love this book. This series is perfect for fans of Ally Carter and Jennifer Lynn Barnes.

Scammed by Kristen Simmons – 5 stars
I loved Scammed, book 2 of the Vale Hall series, just as much as I loved the first book, The Deceivers, and I’m excited for the conclusion! This series is perfect for fans of Ally Carter and Jennifer Lynn Barnes!

You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria – 4 stars
I won’t lie, the gorgeous cover for You Had Me at Hola totally made me want to buy the book! This sizzling romance novel was so fun to read. I loved how it took place on set of a bilingual romcom show and really put a spotlight on Latinx representation within media/Hollywood. This book is perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin!

Together, Apart by Erin A. Craig, Auriane Desombre, Erin Hahn, Bill Konigsberg, Rachael Lippincott, Brittney Morris, Sajni Patel, Natasha Preston, & Jennifer Yen – 4 stars
Together, Apart is a very sweet read! All of the stories are so cute and show a glimmer of hope and joy during such a difficult and devastating time. My favorites in the collection were “Love with a Side of Fortune” by Jennifer Yen and “Masked” by Erin Hahn, but they were all so good! Read my full review of the collection here.

A Thief Among the Trees by Sabaa Tahir, Nicole Andelfinger, & Sonia Liao – 4 stars
 A Thief Among the Trees is the prequel graphic novel to An Ember in the Ashes. I’ve been wanting to get back to this series now that it’s complete and this was a good place to start! I loved seeing a young Elias and Helene—and the art was gorgeous.

The Disasters by M.K. England – 5 stars
I loved reading The Disasters so much that I couldn’t put it down! It’s an action-packed, fun, high stakes space adventure with a seamlessly diverse cast. This book is perfect for fans of Aurora Rising!

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe – 5 stars
You’re going to want to pick up a copy of The Girls I’ve Been right away! This twisty, high-stakes thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat. I loved how the timeline alternated between the present bank robbery and Nora’s childhood with her con artist mother—which unfolded the story in an interesting way. Nora’s voice is strong and her dialogue is entertaining (which is weird to say since there’s some pretty intense events occurring but it was) as she finds a way to get herself and her friends out of the hostage situation alive. Read if you love: found families, twisty thrillers, fast-paced chapters, complex characters, multiple timelines, and queer romance.

One Way or Another by Kara McDowell – 4 stars
One Way or Another is the perfect holiday romcom for your winter tbr! Both timelines were fun and the chapters always ended with me wanting more of whichever timeline I was currently in. The romance was sweet, and I especially loved the anxiety representation!

The Wrath & the Dawn Webtoon by Renée Ahdieh & SilvesterVitale – 4.5 stars
I read The Wrath & the Dawn webtoon on and off since it first started releasing in November 2019, so I’m glad the conclusion finally arrived. I loved the novel so much when I first read it back in 2015, so it was fun experiencing the story again in this new format! Looking forward to the sequel’s adaptation.

No Comments

Leave a Reply