Monthly Recaps Reviews

December in Review

August 16, 2021

More than Maybe by Erin Hahn – 5 stars
The Mortal Instruments: The Graphic Novel, Volume 4 by Cassandra Clare and Cassandra Jean — 3 stars
Heartstopper, Volume 2 by Alice Oseman —4.5 stars
Heavy Vinyl, Volume 1: Riot on the Radio by Carly Usdin and Nina Vakueva — 3 stars
Heavy Vinyl, Volume 2: Y2K-O! by Carly Usdin and Nina Vakueva — 3.5 stars
Love & Olives by Jenna Evans Welch – 5 stars
A Map to the Sun by Sloane Leong – 3 stars

I loved More Than Maybe so much! Erin Hahn’s sophomore novel is an absolute hit—it’s swoony, fun, and full of so much music! I loved how driven Vada is in pursuing her dream career as a music journalist and her relationships with her mom and step dad (seriously, Phil is the best). Luke of course stole my heart with his quiet charm and music-filled banter with Vada. Both of their voices were very strong and had great character development.

I’ve really liked revisiting The Mortal Instruments series through the new graphic novels, and I liked finishing City of Ashes with this fourth volume . Cassandra Jean’s art really brings the action to life!

Heartstopper Vol 2 was so cute, soft, and fluffy! Nick and Charlie are the sweetest, and I’m looking forward to continuing their story in the next volume. This series is perfect for fans of Check Please!

I love The Avant-Guards series, so I was excited to read Heavy Vinyl! I loved the art—especially the bright colors—and the characters but wanted to see more plot and action in the first volume. There’s more action in volume 2 (Y2K-O!), so I ended up enjoying that one more!

I am so glad I finally read Jenna Evans Welch’s books in 2020. They are all so good, but Love & Olives might just be my favorite of the Love & Gelato series. Like Jenna’s previous novels, Love & Olives has a gorgeous setting, a complicated family relationship in need of mending, and a swoonworthy love interest. I absolutely loved Liv and her character development as she learns to embrace her past. Her complicated relationship with her father is so well-written—I even teared up at the end. Interlacing their relationship with the legend of Atlantis was interesting and intriguing. And I can’t forget to mention sweet and adventurous Theo, who was Liv’s perfect guide in Santorini. Love & Olives is a must-read for fans of Morgan Matson and Stephanie Perkins! Read my full review and see my aesthetic here.

I played basketball for 10 years (all the way through my senior year of high school), so I’m always on the lookout for basketball books. I found out about A Map to the Sun through bookstagram and immediately put it on hold at my library. The art in this graphic novel is bold and vibrant, and my favorite scenes were the action-filled games. But this book isn’t just about basketball, it’s most importantly about friendship as a group of girls who are all struggling in their own ways connect with each other through a team sport.

No Comments

Leave a Reply