Reviews

ARC Review: Little Monsters

August 17, 2017

22718738Release Date: July 25, 2017
Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

 

As a fan of mysteries and thrillers, I was excited to read Kara Thomas’s second psychological thriller, Little Monsters. This novel does not disappoint and it will keep you on the edge of your seat in anticipation.

Kacey is new to Broken Falls. She’s sent to live with the father she never met and his blended family after everything escalates past the breaking point with her mother. One night, Kacey’s two new friends, Bailey and Jade, force her to sneak out with them to conduct a séance in a haunted barn. Her younger half-sister, Lauren, tags along by chance and ends up freaking out. After their failed séance attempt, the strangest thing happens. Bailey disappears, and Kacey knows it in her gut that she’s dead. As Kacey tries to figure out where Bailey is, darkness within in herself and those surrounding her begins to unravel.

Since this is a thriller-type-mystery, I really do not want to spoil anything so I will keep this review short. The pacing of the novel is on the slower side, but I liked it this way because it really adds to intensity of Kacey trying to solve this mystery. There are no pop-out-to-scare-you moments. The most terrifying aspect is the darkness people are capable of acting upon. If anything, Kara’s prequel short story Wrath is the creepy story that will freak you out and leave you sleeping with the lights on.

Throughout the novel, several of Bailey’s journal entries are woven in between Kacey’s narrative. I think these journals might be my favorite part. I loved seeing inside Bailey’s head and witnessing her dark descent. Watching her fixation on Kacey worsen was fascinating, and I eagerly awaited the next entry. By the time I read the last journal entry, my mouth had fallen open in shock, horror, and realization.

Overall, Little Monsters is a fantastic thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat gasping until the shocking final reveal.

My Rating:

*This ARC was provided to me by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.*

18 Comments

  • Reply Georgiana August 17, 2017 at 10:06 AM

    I`ve seen only positive reviews of this book and I`m really curious now. I am not the biggest fan of mystery, but the story does sound really good.

    Carmen / Carmen`s Reading Corner

    • Reply Jordan August 17, 2017 at 9:01 PM

      I hope you enjoy it if you decide to read it!

  • Reply Faye August 17, 2017 at 12:29 PM

    I had not heard of this book before but it sounds so fantastic! What a brilliant review. Thank you for sharing this with us! 🙂

    • Reply Jordan August 17, 2017 at 9:01 PM

      Thanks, Faye! It really was a fantastic read!

  • Reply Gill Edwards August 17, 2017 at 11:53 PM

    Now this does sound good, excellent review, this is going on my wish list!

  • Reply Krysti YA and Wine August 18, 2017 at 5:15 PM

    This is a really great thriller. Probably my favorite YA thriller of the year so far. It was so fascinating and had such great twists! Wonderful review!

  • Reply Tasya August 18, 2017 at 11:01 PM

    I’ve heard so many positive reviews of this book, I can’t wait to read it myself!

    • Reply Jordan August 20, 2017 at 7:23 PM

      Yay! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  • Reply Veronika @ The Regal Critiques August 19, 2017 at 5:50 AM

    Okay, this one sounds fantastic and I NEED IT right now. I feel like it’s kind of hard to find a really good YA thriller these days, many are just boring and the mystery/twists are easy to guess, but this one sounds fantastic. This part of your review: “the darkness people are capable of acting upon.” made me the most intrigued, going to purchase this one now. Wonderful review! 🙂

    Veronika @ The Regal Critiques

    • Reply Jordan August 20, 2017 at 7:22 PM

      Thank you, Veronika!! I hope you enjoy it! You should also check out Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ The Naturals and The Fixer series if you are searching for some other good YA thrillers!

  • Reply Sanovia @ Creatyvebooks August 19, 2017 at 4:17 PM

    I think I need to give this book a try. Haven’t heard much but the bits I did hear have been positive. Great review!

    • Reply Jordan August 20, 2017 at 7:20 PM

      You should definitely give it a try! I hope you love it as much as I did! 😀

  • Reply Akaleistar August 19, 2017 at 5:40 PM

    This sounds so good!

    • Reply Jordan August 20, 2017 at 7:20 PM

      It really was!

  • Reply Megan | Ginger Mom & the Kindle Quest August 21, 2017 at 7:18 AM

    I haven’t read many mystery thrillers but this definitely sounds like one I am going to check out 🙂 great review!

    • Reply Jordan August 21, 2017 at 7:31 PM

      Thanks, Megan! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  • Reply Darque Dreamer August 22, 2017 at 1:35 PM

    Great review! I am looking forward to reading this one!

    • Reply Jordan August 22, 2017 at 7:12 PM

      Yay!! I hope you enjoy it!

    Leave a Reply