12 Days of YA Book Recommendations

12 Days of YA Book Recommendations: Day 6 – Romcom

December 18, 2021

12 Days of YA Book Recommendations

 On the sixth day of YA book recommendations, I’m recommending three swoonworthy romcoms!

Better Than the Movies

Better Than the Movies is truly a love letter to all romcoms. It’s full of trope-y goodness that will leaving you swooning in delight! Before Liz’s mother died, she passed her love of romcoms to Liz. It’s the end of her senior year, and if Liz can land the perfect prom date, it would be like one of their romcoms and feel like her mom is there with her. In order to win over her childhood crush, Liz recruits her neighbor Wes to fake date her in exchange for the coveted parking spot they fight over daily. But as Wes and Liz spend more time together, Liz starts to rethink who her perfect leading man might be. Perfect for fans of romcoms, especially To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and The DUFF (the movie adaptation). Check out my aesthetic and full review here.

Find the book: GoodreadsBookshop, IndieBoundBarnes & Noble, Amazon


From Little Tokyo, with Love

I absolutely adored From Little Tokyo, With Love! It’s a fun YA romcom with a focus on family and identity. I loved watching Rika and Henry (who was very sweet and swoonworthy) grow closer as they run all over LA searching for Rika’s long-lost mother. Rika’s anger and loneliness in being an outsider in her community felt so real, and I appreciated seeing these feelings come to life in a character. You’ll want to read this book if you love modern fairytales, celebrity romances, family secrets, Los Angeles, and complex main characters!

Find the book: Goodreads, Bookshop, IndieBound, Barnes & NobleAmazon


Heartbreakers and Fakers

Heartbreakers and Fakers is a fun summer romcom with lots of drama! After making the huge mistake of cheating on her boyfriend with her best friend’s boyfriend, Penny must fake date Kai in order to prove that they have real feelings for each other and be forgiven by their friends. I loved watching Penny grow throughout the novel and seeing flashbacks from the previous school year, where we discover how unhealthy Penny’s friendship with her best friend was. And the romance! Her hate-to-love + fake relationship with Kai was so good! This book is perfect for fans of Better Than the Movies and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Find the book: Goodreads, Bookshop, IndieBound, Barnes & Noble, Amazon

Follow along during the 12 Days of YA Book Recommendations!

Check out last year’s romcom recommendation.

What are your favorite romcoms? Let me know below in the comments!

No Comments

Leave a Reply