Releases

    June Releases

    May 27, 2016

    Check out these great releases I’m excited about coming out this June!

    22718738Release Date: June 7, 2016

    For fans of The Princess Bride comes the comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey.

    Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger—and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that’s the least of Jane’s problems. She’s about to become Queen of England.

    Like that could go wrong.

    Guys! I’ve heard so much about My Lady Jane, and it looks so good! I can’t wait to read it!

     

     

    22718738Release Date: June 7, 2016

    Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.

    For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate’s campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

    Meanwhile, Tess’s guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can–and cannot–be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she’s about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

    Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

    I love Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ The Naturals series, and I can’t wait to binge read The Fixer and The Long Game!

     

    22718738Release Date: June 7, 2016

    A read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend—only what if the accident wasn’t an accident?

    Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

    I’m a fan of mysteries and thrillers, and With Malice sounds like a book that’s going to keep me on the edge of my seat.

     

    22718738Release Date: June 14, 2016

    An action-packed and suspenseful sequel to The Witch Hunter, perfect for fans of Graceling and the Grisha Trilogy.

    “I think, in time, you’ll either be my greatest mistake or my greatest victory.”

    Former witch hunter Elizabeth Grey is hiding within the magically protected village of Harrow, evading the price put on her head by Lord Blackwell, the usurper king of Anglia. Their last encounter left Blackwell ruined, but his thirst for power grows stronger every day. He’s readying for a war against those who would resist his rule–namely Elizabeth and the witches and wizards she now calls her allies.

    Having lost her stigma, a magical source of protection and healing, Elizabeth’s strength is tested both physically and emotionally. War always means sacrifice, and as the lines between good and evil blur once more, Elizabeth must decide just how far she’ll go to save those she loves.

    “[Filled] with everything a good fantasy book needs: swords, poison, black magic, and betrayal.”—April Tucholke, author of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, on The Witch Hunter

    I bought The Witch Hunter last year when it released, but I decided not to start it until the sequel released. Another duology I’m excited to read now that it’s complete.

     

    22718738Release Date: June 28, 2016

    NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL.

    And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

    Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

    But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

    From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

    Oh man, And I Darken just sounds so good. I have an e-ARC that I am so ready to read now that the I have more free time!

  • Author Q&As

    Morgan Matson Q&A

    Today, I’m featuring Morgan Matson in my thirteenth author Q&A. Morgan is the author of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, Second Chance Summer, Since You’ve been Gone, and her latest, The Unexpected Everything. Morgan also wrote The Broken Hearts…

    May 25, 2016
  • Reviews

    April in Review

    The Island by S. Usher Evans – 3.5 stars You Were Here by Cori McCarthy – 3.5 stars Any Other Girl by Rebecca Phillips – 3.5 stars Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally – 5 stars The…

    May 23, 2016
  • Fun

    8 Stages of Recovering from a Book Hangover

    We’ve all been here. Yes, that’s right, I’m talking about the moment when you read the last line in a book and realize it’s actually over (and that you have to wait year for…

    May 20, 2016
  • Reviews

    ARC Review: Defending Taylor

    Release Date: July 5, 2016 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor’s always pushed herself to be perfect. After all,…

    May 18, 2016
  • Author Events

    Randomly On Tour Recap

    I was lucky enough to be able to go to two book events in one week! The first one was the Fierce Reads spring tour stop at Vroman’s and the second was the Randomly on…

    May 16, 2016
  • Author Q&As

    Katie McGarry Q&A

    Today, I’m sharing a Q&A from a twitter chat that took place last summer with Katie McGarry! Katie’s the author of the Pushing the Limits series and the Thunder Road series, both of which…

    May 13, 2016
  • Author Events

    Fierce Reads Spring Tour Recap

    Last Wednesday was a whirlwind day. I awoke early that morning to get ready, go to breakfast, and take my last final of freshman year. As soon as I finished that test, I hurried…

    May 11, 2016
  • Reviews

    ARC Review: Any Other Girl

    Release Date: January 26, 2016 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks After a disastrous, reputation-destroying party at the end of junior year, Kat Henley has a new plan. When it comes to boys–especially…

    May 9, 2016
  • Challenges

    ARC April: Final Recap

    Well, that’s it! April is officially over, and, my, did it go by fast or what?! I had a blast participating in Read.Sleep.Repeat.’s ARC April challenge this past month where I was able to…

    May 5, 2016
  • Releases

    May Releases

    So many great books coming out this month! May is starting off summer with a bang book-wise! Release Date: May 3, 2016 Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep…

    May 2, 2016