Book Lists

    Top 10 Reads of the Summer

    September 13, 2021

    Top 10 Reads of the Summer

    I read SO many great books this summer, and so as the season ends, I want to share my very favorite reads (in no particular order) with you! All of these books are must-adds to your TBR.

    The Lucky List

    THE LUCKY LIST

    Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

    Rachael Lippincott, coauthor of #1 New York Timesbestseller Five Feet Apart, weaves a captivating, heartfelt love story about learning who you are, and who you love, when the person you’ve always shared yourself with is gone.

    The Lucky List is a beautiful story that will pull on your heart strings! It’s full of so much summery goodness and adventures while also diving into the challenges of grief. Fans of Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone will love this heartfelt story! See my aesthetic here.

    This Is My AmericaTHIS IS MY AMERICA

    Find it: GoodreadsIndieBound, Bookshop, Barnes & Noble, Amazon

    The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

    I didn’t want to stop reading This Is My America—this mystery dived into so many important topics and had my complete attention. A powerful must-read, This Is My America is perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson and Holly Jackson.

    Tokyo Ever After

    TOKYO EVER AFTER

    Find it: GoodreadsIndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

    Emiko Jean’s Tokyo Ever After is the “refreshing, spot-on” (Booklist, starred review) story of an ordinary Japanese-American girl who discovers that her father is the Crown Prince of Japan.

    Tokyo Ever After is such an adorable read—I loved it so much! The voice is super fun and the bodyguard romance was so cute. I can’t wait for the sequel. This book is perfect for fans of The Princess Diaries!

    We Can't Keep Meeting Like ThisWE CAN’T KEEP MEETING LIKE THIS

    Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, Bookshop, Barnes & Noble, Amazon

    A wedding harpist disillusioned with love and a hopeless romantic cater-waiter flirt and fight their way through a summer of weddings in this effervescent romantic comedy from the acclaimed author of Today Tonight Tomorrow.

    We Can’t Keep Meeting Like This  is a heartfelt story with Jewish and OCD/anxiety rep. I loved the dichotomy between Quinn’s disillusionment with love and Tarek being a hopeless romantic. The contrast made seeing them grow and learn from each other all the more sweeter. Rachel Lynn Solomon is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors!

    Kisses and Croissants

    KISSES AND CROISSANTS

    Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

    As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, with writing as crisp as a freshly baked baguette, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

    Kisses and Croissants is such a fun read! I loved diving into the world of ballet and exploring Paris. The romance is so sweet, making this book the perfect summer read. Fans of Anna and the French Kiss and Emily in Paris will love it!

    Meet Me at Midnight

    MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT

    Find it: GoodreadsIndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

    Teens waging a war of practical jokes declare peace when they fall for one another in this charming YA romantic comedy from Jessica Pennington.

    I love all of Jessica Pennington’s novels, so it’s no surprise that I adored Meet Me at Midnight! I think this is my new favorite of her books?? It’s so fun—I couldn’t get enough of Sidney and Asher’s banter and pranks. The perfect summer romcom!

    That WeekendTHAT WEEKEND

    Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, Bookshop, Barnes & Noble, Amazon

    From the author of The Cheerleaders, comes a thriller about best friends on a weekend getaway that goes horribly, dangerously wrong.

    I’ve been a fan of Kara Thomas for several years now and That Weekend was worth the wait. I loved the twists and suspense created from the main character’s memory loss as well as the multiple timelines. Go pick up this book (and the rest of Kara’s novels) ASAP!

    She Drives Me CrazySHE DRIVES ME CRAZY

    Find it: GoodreadsIndieBound, Bookshop, Barnes & Noble, Amazon

    High school nemeses fall in love in Kelly Quindlen’s She Drives Me Crazy, a queer YA rom com perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuiston.

    Basketball + fake dating? It’s like She Drives Me Crazy was written for me! I played basketball when I was in high school, so I’m always on the lookout for basketball books and this one did not disappoint. I loved this romcom so much!

    How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe

    HOW MOON FUENTEZ FELL IN LOVE WITH THE UNIVERSE 

    Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

    The Hating Game meets I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter in this irresistible romance starring a Mexican American teen who discovers love and profound truths about the universe when she spends her summer on a road trip across the country.

    How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love With the Universe is such a gorgeous novel. At its heart, it’s  a story about finding your self-worth—and it does it in such a beautiful way. The romance is A+, and Moon has the best banter with Santiago, the very grumpy love interest.

    Cool for the SummerCOOL FOR THE SUMMER

    Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

    The guy of her dreams . . . or the girl in her heart? Dahlia Adler’s Cool for the Summer is a story of self-discovery and new love.

    Cool for the Summer is the first book I’ve read from Dahlia Adler and I really enjoyed it! I loved switching between the present and past timelines, which had a Grease feel to it. This book is perfect for fans of Only Mostly Devastated!

    What were your favorite reads this summer?

  • Monthly Recaps Reviews

    January in Review

    The Deceivers by Kristen Simmons – 5 stars The Deceivers was my first read of the year, thanks to @diamondxgirl! I’ve owned this book since it released but hadn’t read it yet. So when…

    September 11, 2021
  • Cover Reveal

    Cover Reveal: Long Story Short

    I am so excited to hep reveal the cover for Serena Kaylor’s debut novel today! Long Story Short sounds like the perfect summer romcom, and this gorgeous cover has me swooning already! 😍 View this…

    September 7, 2021
  • #Bookstagram

    #Bookstagram Recap — August 2021

    It’s time to recap some of my favorite bookstagram posts from August! View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jordan (@theheartofabookblogger) View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jordan (@theheartofabookblogger)…

    September 3, 2021
  • New Releases

    September YA Book Releases

    Happy September! There’s SO many exciting books to look forward to this month! Release Date: September 7, 2021 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, Bookshop Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling…

    August 31, 2021
  • BookTok

    Let’s Be Friends on TikTok!

    I’ve been hanging out a lot on TikTok this past summer, so it’s time I introduce my BookTok account to the blog! Here are a few of my favorite videos: https://www.tiktok.com/@theheartofabookblogger/video/7000365756399553797?lang=en&is_copy_url=1&is_from_webapp=v1   @theheartofabookblogger Go…

    August 26, 2021
  • Monthly Recaps Reviews

    December in Review

    More than Maybe by Erin Hahn – 5 stars The Mortal Instruments: The Graphic Novel, Volume 4 by Cassandra Clare and Cassandra Jean — 3 stars Heartstopper, Volume 2 by Alice Oseman —4.5 stars…

    August 16, 2021
  • New Releases

    August YA Book Releases

    Happy August! There’s SO many exciting books to look forward to this month! Release Date: August 3, 2021 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, Bookshop This debut paperback original romance follows a Latina teen…

    August 9, 2021
  • #Bookstagram

    #Bookstagram Recap — July 2021

    It’s time to recap some of my favorite bookstagram posts from July! View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jordan (@theheartofabookblogger) View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jordan (@theheartofabookblogger)…

    August 6, 2021
  • New Releases

    July YA Book Releases

    Happy July! There’s SO many exciting books to look forward to this month! Release Date: July 6, 2021 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, Bookshop From the author of You Should See Me…

    July 20, 2021