Book Aesthetics

Weekend Aesthetic {21}

January 5, 2019

The Weekend Aesthetic is a feature where I post book aesthetics every weekend. They might be of a book I’m currently reading or recently read or read a long time ago or one I consider to be a favorite of mine—there’s no rhyme or reason to it!

I’m kicking off the year with an aesthetic of the last book I read in 2018—Little White Lies! I love Jennifer Lynn Barnes’s The Naturals and The Fixer series so I was excited to read the first in her latest mystery series. I binge read this book in less than two days, which is impressive because I had been in a reading slump for a few months now. Little White Lies is perfect for fans of Gossip Girl as it has the scheming children of high society and all of the drama that comes with debutant season in the south.


22718738

Release Date: November 6, 2018
Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble

“I’m not saying this is Sawyer’s fault,” the prim and proper one said delicately. “But.”

Eighteen-year-old auto mechanic Sawyer Taft did not expect her estranged grandmother to show up at her apartment door and offer her a six-figure contract to participate in debutante season. And she definitely never imagined she would accept. But when she realizes that immersing herself in her grandmother’s “society” might mean discovering the answer to the biggest mystery of her life-her father’s identity-she signs on the dotted line and braces herself for a year of makeovers, big dresses, bigger egos, and a whole lot of bless your heart. The one thing she doesn’t expect to find is friendship, but as she’s drawn into a group of debutantes with scandalous, dangerous secrets of their own, Sawyer quickly discovers that her family isn’t the only mainstay of high society with skeletons in their closet. There are people in her grandmother’s glittering world who are not what they appear, and no one wants Sawyer poking her nose into the past. As she navigates the twisted relationships between her new friends and their powerful parents, Sawyer’s search for the truth about her own origins is just the beginning.

Set in the world of debutante balls, grand estates and rolling green hills, Little White Lies combines a charming setting, a classic fish-out-of-water story, and the sort of layered mystery only author Jennifer Lynn Barnes can pull off.

 

Have you read any books by Jennifer Lynn Barnes?

8 Comments

  • Reply Sam@wlabb January 5, 2019 at 11:21 AM

    I love that you included “Bless Your Heart” and pearls juxtaposed with someone tied up. Nice job!

    • Reply Jordan February 18, 2019 at 3:29 PM

      Thank you! Both are definitely big parts of the story!

  • Reply Lindsi January 5, 2019 at 9:13 PM

    I haven’t read this one, but it’s been on my TBR for awhile!

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear?

    • Reply Jordan February 18, 2019 at 3:29 PM

      It’s so good! Instantly brought me out of my reading slump! I can’t wait for the sequel!

  • Reply Amy January 21, 2019 at 9:05 PM

    I love thrillers and this one sounds so deliciously twisty. Adding it to my TBR right now!

    Love your aesthetic.

    • Reply Jordan February 18, 2019 at 3:30 PM

      Thanks, Amy! You’ll love this book (and Jennifer Lynn Barnes’ other series The Naturals and The Fixer) if you love mysteries!

  • Reply John Smith March 15, 2019 at 6:12 PM

    Darn, I wish my grandmother had offered me $100,000 to participate in debutante season!

    • Reply Jordan April 29, 2019 at 3:45 PM

      Right???????

    Leave a Reply to Jordan Cancel Reply