New Releases

August Releases

July 28, 2017

How is it already August? Where did the summer even go? Anyway, here are my most anticipated August releases!

22718738Release Date: August 1, 2017

Kissing Max Holden was a terrible idea…

After his father has a life-altering stroke, Max Holden isn’t himself. As his long-time friend, Jillian Eldridge only wants to help him, but she doesn’t know how. When Max climbs through her window one night, Jill knows that she shouldn’t let him kiss her. But she can’t resist, and when they’re caught in the act by her dad, Jill swears it’ll never happen again. Because kissing Max Holden is a terrible idea.

With a new baby sibling on the way, her parents fighting all the time, and her dream of culinary school up in the air, Jill starts spending more and more time with Max. And even though her father disapproves and Max still has a girlfriend, not kissing Max is easier said than done. Will Jill follow her heart and allow their friendship to blossom into something more, or will she listen to her head and stop kissing Max Holden once and for all?

I adored reading Kissing Max Holden! It is a mix of some of my favorite tropes in YA contemporary romances & I’m excited for it to be out in the world very soon. Read my review here!

 

22718738Release Date: August 1, 2017

A new spin on the classic smart-girl-and-bad-boy setup, this witty contemporary romance shows how easily a friendship – even one built on an elaborate lie – can become so much more.

Jenny meets Chance for the very first time when she is assigned as his partner in their Junior Oral Communications class. But after they rescue a doomed assignment with one clever lie, the whole school is suddenly convinced that Little-Miss-Really-Likes-Having-A’s and the most scandalous heartbreaker in school have been best friends forever. It’s amazing how quickly a lie can grow―especially when you really, really want it to be the truth.

With Jenny, Chance can live the normal life he’s always kind of wanted. And with Chance, Jenny can have the exciting teen experiences that TV shows and movies have always promised. Through it all, they hold on to the fact that they are “just friends.” But that might be the biggest lie of all.

Debut author Tiffany Pitcock delivers a spot-on depiction of first love and the high school rumor mill in Just Friends, chosen by readers like you for Macmillan’s young adult imprint Swoon Reads.

Another Swoon Reads book’s release I’m excited about! Doesn’t it just sound fantastic? Read my review here!

 

22718738Release Date: August 1, 2017

A contemporary YA perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Jessi Kirby, THESE THINGS I’VE DONE is the story of a seventeen-year-old girl who accidentally caused her best friend’s death and, a year later, is still grappling with the consequences.

Before:
Dara and Aubrey have been inseparable since they became best friends in sixth grade. However, as they begin their sophomore year of high school, cracks in their friendship begin to form, testing the bond they always thought was unbreakable.

After:
It’s been fifteen months since the accident that killed Aubrey, and not a day goes by that Dara isn’t racked with guilt over her role in her best friend’s death. Dara thought nothing could be worse than confronting the memories of Aubrey that relentlessly haunt her, but she soon realizes it isn’t half as difficult as seeing Ethan, Aubrey’s brother, every day. Not just because he’s a walking reminder of what she did, but because the more her feelings for him change, the more she knows she’s betraying her best friend one final time.

Fun fact, Rebecca Phillips’s Faking Perfect was the first ever book I reviewed for NetGalley! How fun is that? I ended up devouring the novel in one night and I loved it (you can read my review here)! I read an early copy of her next book, Any Other Girl, (review here) and I’m so excited to check out These Things I’ve Done!

 

22718738Release Date: August 29, 2017

New York City, 2118. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible – if you want it enough.

Manhattan is home to a thousand-story supertower, a beacon of futuristic glamour and high-tech luxury… and to millions of people living scandalous, secretive lives.

Leda is haunted by nightmares of what happened on the worst night of her life. She’s afraid the truth will get out – which is why she hires Watt, her very own hacker, to keep an eye on all of the witnesses for her. But what happens when their business relationship turns personal?

When Rylin receives a scholarship to an elite upper-floor school, her life transforms overnight. But being here also means seeing the boy she loves: the one whose heart she broke, and who broke hers in return.

Avery is grappling with the reality of her forbidden romance – is there anywhere in the world that’s safe for them to be together?

And then there’s Calliope, the mysterious, bohemian beauty who’s arrived in New York with a devious goal in mind – and too many secrets to count.

Here in the Tower, no one is safe – because someone is watching their every move, someone with revenge in mind. After all, in a world of such dazzling heights, you’re always only one step away from a devastating fall…

Truth time, I have’t actually read The Thousandth Floor yet. I don’t even own it, tbh, so how can I be excited for this book then you ask? Well, BECAUSE OF THIS GORGEOUS COVER. THAT’S HOW. JUST LOOK AT IT!

 

22718738Release Date: August 29, 2017

New York Times bestselling author Romina Russell’s epic sci-fi fantasy series ZODIAC reaches its breathtaking conclusion with THIRTEEN RISING, the highly anticipated fourth and final novel.

The master has been unmasked. Rho’s world has been turned upside down. With her loved ones in peril and all the stars set against her, can the young Guardian from House Cancer muster the strength to keep fighting? Or has she finally found her match in a master whose ambition to rule knows no limits?

Another series I hardly know anything about. I’ve read a little bit of the first book, but I am definitely excited to binge read all of these books together! Plus, I’ve met the author a few times and she is lovely.

 

 

 

22718738Release Date: August 29, 2017

She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. . . .

Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

Tell me who hasn’t seen the Wonder Woman movie this summer and been left wanting more? I can’t wait to read Leigh Bardugo’s take on this summer’s favorite hero!

 

22718738Release Date: August 29, 2017

Danielle effed up. Big time.

Danielle’s plans for the future were pretty easy to figure out… until she failed senior English and her single college application was denied. Suddenly she’s in hot water with very few options, because honestly who applies to a safety school when their mom is a semi-famous “college psychic”?!

Determined to get her life back on track, Danielle enrolls in her hometown community college with a plan: pass her English class and get back into Ohio State and her mother’s good graces. Romance isn’t on her radar… until she reconnects with her childhood crush and golden-boy-next-door, Luke.

Between family drama, first love and finding her own way, Danielle can’t help but feel a little overwhelmed. Thankfully she has her friendship with the snarky and frustratingly attractive Porter, her coworker at the campus bookstore, to push her to experience new things and help keep her afloat.

One thing’s for sure: This time, failure’s not an option.

August sure is the month of Swoon Reads releasing their latest YA contemporaries! Stay tuned for my review coming towards the end of the month!

 

What August releases are you most looking forward to?

12 Comments

  • Reply Rebeca July 28, 2017 at 11:20 AM

    SO MANY AMAZING BOOKS!!! I cannot wait to read these books, I´m reading Wonder Woman right now and it´s absolutely amazing! I also want to start reading Zodiac, the covers of these books are absolutely stunning!

    • Reply Jordan July 28, 2017 at 12:24 PM

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying WW! And aren’t they? Each book’s cover keep getting better and better!

  • Reply Faye July 28, 2017 at 11:22 AM

    These all sound fantastic and now a single one was on my radar and now I have a nice collection of new books to add to my wishlist! Thank you for sharing these! 😀

    • Reply Jordan July 28, 2017 at 12:25 PM

      Thank you for stopping by! Were there any other August releases you were excited about that I forgot to mention?

  • Reply Darque Dreamer July 28, 2017 at 12:02 PM

    Wonder Woman has taken the world by storm!! I LOVED the movie and can’t wait for the book!!

    • Reply Jordan July 28, 2017 at 12:25 PM

      She really has and I couldn’t be happier about it!!

  • Reply Breeny's Books July 29, 2017 at 11:12 AM

    THERE ARE SO MANY AMAZING BOOKS COMING, AHHHH!!! From your list, I have Just Friends and Wonder Woman on my radar. I’m definitely adding Thirteen Rising, even though I haven’t read the rest of the series. I really need to get on that. Also, I’m adding Kissing Max Holden because who doesn’t enjoy a YA romance novel every once in a while. Awesome post. It made me so excited for next month. I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m greatly enjoying its content.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    • Reply Jordan July 30, 2017 at 9:23 AM

      Thanks for stopping by, Breeny! I adored Kissing Max Holden so you should definitely check it out!

  • Reply Megan July 29, 2017 at 12:46 PM

    So many wonderful books, I can’t wait for all of these, especially Wonderwoman and Kissing Max Holden. Thank you for the handy list!
    Megan @ http://wanderingsofabookbird.blogspot.co.uk/

    • Reply Jordan July 30, 2017 at 9:24 AM

      I hope you enjoy Kissing Max Holden as much as I did!

  • Reply Megan | Ginger Mom & the Kindle Quest July 29, 2017 at 7:37 PM

    These sound amazing and I didn’t know about any of them! Living under a rock, I guess. Thanks for adding to my TBR 🙂

    • Reply Jordan July 30, 2017 at 9:26 AM

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you found some new books to read!

    Leave a Reply