Book Lists

5 Books to Read During Spooky Season

October 31, 2021

5 Books to Read During Spooky Season

Happy Halloween! Let’s celebrate with some spooky YA book recs perfect for the season!

The Naturals

THE NATURALS

Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

Think The Mentalist meets Pretty Little Liars-Jennifer Lynn Barnes’s The Naturals is a gripping psychological thriller with killer appeal, a to-die-for romance, and the bones of a gritty and compelling new series.

I absolutely love The Naturals series by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. Each story kept me on the edge of my seat. I love how Jennifer focuses on the relationships between each of the Naturals as well as each case. Also, the killer POV? So creepy! If you’re in need of keep-me-up-all-night read, this is the series for you. Fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder and Criminal Minds will love this series!

Stalking Jack the RipperSTALKING JACK THE RIPPER

Find it: GoodreadsIndieBound, Bookshop, Barnes & Noble, Amazon

This #1 New York Times bestseller and deliciously creepy horror novel has a storyline inspired by the Ripper murders and an unexpected, blood-chilling conclusion.

Stalking Jack the Ripper is perfect for mystery and historical fiction fans! A wonderful combination of both, I couldn’t help but be pulled into the world. The characters were great, and there were twists that kept me on the edge of my seat. I especially adore the banter and romance between Audrey Rose and Thomas throughout the series!

Something Strange and Deadly

SOMETHING STRANGE AND DEADLY

Find it: GoodreadsIndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

In Something Strange and Deadly, the first book in a trilogy, Susan Dennard weaves together vividly imagined scenes of action, adventure, and gorgeous Victorian fashion to create an entertaining steampunk tapestry of humor, horror, and romance. Readers who love Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices series will be intrigued from the start.

The Something Strange & Deadly trilogy by Susan Dennard is fabulous. I didn’t know what to think when I first read that the series deals with zombies, but Susan does a fantastic job with them and I love that aspect of the series. Each book takes place in a new setting—Philadelphia, France, and Egypt—and the characters are well-developed. I adore Eleanor and her sass and fearlessness! Perfect for fans of The Infernal Devices and Stalking Jack the Ripper.

The Darkest CornersTHE DARKEST CORNERS

Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, Bookshop, Barnes & Noble, Amazon

For fans of Gillian Flynn and Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

Kara Thomas writes the best psychological thrillers—and The Darkest Corners has all of the fall vibes to it. Its slow pacing adds to the tension and intensity of the story. This mystery will leave you up late at night trying to guess what happened. Thomas is a master at character-driven suspense, and I am always eagerly awaiting her next novel.

The Hazel Wood

THE HAZEL WOOD

Find it: Goodreads, IndieBound, BookshopBarnes & Noble, Amazon

Welcome to Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Woodthe fiercely stunning New York Timesbestseller everyone is raving about!

Fairytale fans will love the dark twists of The Hazel Wood. A mesmerizing tale, you’ll want to keep the lights on at night after reading the creepy stories Alice encounters as she journeys into the Hinterland. You’ll be pulled into the story by the mysterious contemporary beginning until you’re all the way trapped in the eerie fantasy world.

Need more recs? Be sure to enter this giveaway to win a stack of spooky reads!

What are you favorite spooky reads?

No Comments

Leave a Reply